All Tory MPs standing down at the next general election

Sajid Javid, Ben Wallace and Dominic Raab are among those to stand down

More Conservative MPs are standing down in the next general election than at any point since the 1997 Labor landslide.

Fifty-seven Tories have now said they plan to quit Parliament rather than face re-election, with a referendum expected in 2024.

There are fears that the Conservatives are on the road to suffer a heavy defeat, with the Telegraph poll on polling Labor currently at around 20 percentage points ahead of the ruling party among voters.

Here are all the Tory MPs who have confirmed they will step aside:

Mike Penning

Sajid Javid

The MP for Bromsgrove since 2010, Mr Javid has served in six different Cabinet positions during the Tories’ in power as culture secretary, business secretary, housing secretary, home secretary, Chancellor and health secretary. He remained on the back benches during the primes of Liz Truss and Rishi Sunak.

Sir Charles Walker

Sir Charles, who chaired the procedure committee between 2012 and 2019, has emerged as one of Parliament’s biggest lockdown skeptics, carrying a milk bottle around Westminster to protest restrictions. He has been a critic of Boris Johnson and Liz Truss, saying their government is “an absolute disgrace” being run by “a bunch of talentless people”.

Dehenna Davison

Ms Davison, 29, was elected as the first Dáil MP for the ‘Red Wall’ seat of Bishop Aukland for 134 years in the 2019 general election. As a minister for the Level Up Department, she said when she announced her resignation an office that had “nothing like a normal life for a twenty-something”.

Sir Gary Streeter

Sir Gary is retiring from Parliament after more than 30 years, having been the Tory MP for South West Devon since 1992.

William Wragg

Another harsh critic of Boris Johnson, Mr Wragg has been an MP since 2015 and chairs the public administration and influential accounts committee.

Adam Afriyie

Chloe Smith

Ms Smith, MP for Norwich North since 2009, was one of Liz Truss’ most prominent supporters, serving first as work and pensions secretary and then as Rishi Sunak’s temporary science secretary during Michelle Donelan’s maternity leave.

Andrew Percy

Douglas Ross

Mr Ross, who is an MP and Member of the Scottish Parliament (SMP), currently leads the Scottish Tories. He has confirmed that he will not seek re-election as an MP next time.

Mark Pawsey

George Eustice

An MP since 2010, Mr Eustice was Mr Johnson’s environment secretary between 2020 and 2022.

Edward Timpson

Joe Gideon

Paul Beresford

Stephen McPartland

Robin Walker

A former education minister, Mr Walker is currently chairman of the House of Commons education select committee.

Sir Graham Brady

Sir Graham, who chaired the influential Backbench Committee in 1922, confirmed earlier this year that he will no longer represent Altrincham and Sale after winning the seat in 1997.

Pauline Latham

Nicola Richards

Gordon Henderson

Craig Whittaker

Henry Smith

John Howell

Jonathan Djanogly

Matthew Offord

Alistair Jack

The current Scottish Secretary, Mr Jack, has confirmed that he will stand down in the next election but has not accepted a peerage on Boris Johnson’s honors list to resign despite being nominated by the Prime Minister.

Sir Robert Goodwill

Sir Robert is a former minister for education, immigration and transport and is currently chairman of the environment, food and rural affairs select committee of the House of Commons.

Richard Bacon

Dominic Raab

Mr Raab, the former deputy prime minister and justice secretary, cited “growing concern” about the strain on his young family when he announced his intention to step down shortly after for him to resign from the Cabinet due to claims of bullying by civil servants. He also held the titles of Brexit secretary and foreign secretary.

Philip Dunne

Andy Carter

Will Quince

Royston Smith

Sir Silver Bill

Sir Bill, the MP for Stone in Staffordshire and an arch-Eurosceptic, has said it will be a “huge shame” to leave Parliament. At 83 years of age, he is the oldest member of the House of Commons.

Lucy Allan

Ms Allan, the MP for Telford in Shropshire since 2015, announced her intention to quit the Government side, writing: “Today’s Conservative Party is no longer interested in seats like Telford.”

Steve Brine

Mr Brine, who broke lobbying rules in a WhatsApp exchange revealed by The Telegraph’s Lockdown Files investigation, said it was time to consider a “new chapter” in his life.

Greg Knight

Chris Clarkson

Ben Wallace

Mr Wallace, who has been Defense Secretary since July 2019, has announced he will not contest the next election but has ruled out leaving Parliament “prematurely”. He will also step down from his Cabinet role at the next reshuffle.

Tracey Crouch

Trudy Harrison

Stewart Andrew

Stephen Hammond

David Jones

Alok Sharma

The former Tory cabinet minister and Cop26 president, who chaired the United Nations climate change conference in Glasgow two years ago, said he will continue to support “climate action” in Parliament for the rest of his term. part time as an MP.

Chris Grayling

The former transport secretary has been MP for Epsom and Ewell since 2001 and served in the Cameron and May administrations. He said he was successfully treated for prostate cancer earlier this year, but the diagnosis decided it was “time for a change”.

John Baron

Dr Lisa Cameron

Sir James Duddridge

Jamie Wallis

Mike Freer

Nick Gibb

Oliver Heald

Sir Bob Neill

Kwasi Kwarteng

Mr Kwarteng, the former chancellor, announced on 6 February 2024 that he will be stepping down as MP at the next general election.

Mr Kwarteng, who represents the constituency of Spelthorne, Surrey, said he had told his constituency association he would not stand at the next contest.

He wrote on X, formerly known as Twitter: “It has been an honor to serve the residents of Spelthorne since 2010, and I will continue to do so for the rest of my time in Parliament.”

Nicky Aiken

Nickie Aiken, deputy chair of the Conservative Party, announced that she would be standing down in the next general election on 7 February.

Ms Aiken is married to Alex Aiken, the Government’s executive director of communications. It also emerged on February 7 that Mr Aiken will leave his post to take up a position at the United Arab Emirates’ Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Tracey Crouch

Ms Crouch is a former minister who chaired a review of English football. She was diagnosed with breast cancer in 2020 and completed treatment the following year.

In a letter confirming their departure, she wrote: “The reasons for not wanting to stand are entirely personal and positive. While everyone’s cancer journey is different, going through a diagnosis and coming out the other side of treatment has been a life-changing experience for me.

“It was an opportunity to pause and reflect on my own personal priorities and based on that I truly believe it is time to seek a new professional challenge.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *